Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty,
Article VI

Click here to download T-shirt image.

Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty

Article VI of the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty demands that the five original nuclear weapons states, The United States, Russia, Britain, France and China, negotiate in good faith an early end to the nuclear arms race, followed by complete nuclear disarmament. 40 years after the entry into force of this treaty, these nuclear weapon states, led by the United States, the first nuclear power and the only one to have used a nuclear bomb, shirk their responsibilities.

By working toward the development of a new class of "battlefield-usable" nuclear weapons, threatening their use against non-nuclear weapon states, and aiding non-signatory nuclear weapon states such as Israel, the United States makes a mockery of the Non-Proliferation Treaty.

Since the entry into force of the nuclear non-proliferation Treaty, Israel, India, Pakistan and North Korea have joined the nuclear weapons club. Expect more entries into the club unless the nuclear weapons states begin to take their responsibilities under Article VI seriously.